University of Liverpool

L69 3BX

The University of Liverpool has been home to no less than nine Nobel Prize Laureates, was the first UK education provider of its kind to introduce an independent university in China, and as if that wasn’t enough, one of its professors made the first ever public radio transmission!

Steeped in history, the university we see today traces its origins back to 1881, starting life as University College Liverpool. In 1884, it became part of the Victoria University, and a decade on, Professor Oliver Lodge made that famous transmission, before taking the first surgical X-ray in the UK in 1896.

The Liverpool University Press was established at the turn of the 19th century, making it the third-oldest university press in the country. At that point, students were awarded external degrees by the University of London.

Professors Ronald Finn and Sir Cyril Clarke jointly claimed the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award in 1980, an accolade widely-known as America’s Nobel.

In 1994, the university became a founding member of the Russell Group, which was made of up 20 leading research-led universities. Since then, engineers and technicians from the university worked on the construction of the Large Hadron Collider at CERN.

Liverpool became the first provider in the country to form an independent university in China. Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University is located west of Shanghai, and is a science and engineering institution offering undergraduate degree programmes in Science, Engineering, and Management Studies.

In the Times Higher Education World University Rankings for 2018, the University of Liverpool was named in 27th position nationally, and 177th globally. Meanwhile, two of the university’s researchers have been shortlisted for the 2017 Newton Prize, an annual £1 million fund given for the best research or innovation that promotes the economic development and social welfare of developing countries.

If you've been made an offer for a place at the university then have a look at some of our student accommodation in Liverpool below:

Liverpool Accommodation

Professor Atif Rahman has been shortlisted along with a research colleague from the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences in Bangalore, for research on reducing exposure to second-hand smoke for mothers and babies.

And Professor Miren Iturizza-Gomara has been shortlisted, alongside a collaborator from the Christian Medical College in Vellore, for research into improving rotavirus vaccinations to reduce infant deaths.

The nine Nobel Prize Laureates remain a significant and proud part of the university’s history. Sir Ronald Ross won the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1902 for his work on malaria, Charles Barkla got the equivalent award in physics in 1917 after discovering the electromagnetic properties of X-rays, and Sir Charles Sherrington received the Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine 15 years later, courtesy of his research into neurons.

Sir James Chadwick claimed the Physics prize in 1935 for discovering neutrons, while Sir Robert Robinson lifted the chemistry equivalent 12 years later thanks to his work on anthocyanins and alkaloids, and Har Gobind Khorana clinched the physiology/medicine accolade for his interpretation of the genetic code.

Rodney Porter was awarded the same gong in 1972, having discovered the structure of antibodies, Ronald Coase was handed the economics version of the prize in 1991 for his discovery of the significance of transaction costs and property rights for the global economy, and Joseph Roblat completes the prestigious list with a 1995 Nobel Peace Prize for the progress he made with nuclear disarmament.